History of the Footlight Players

Footlight Players was born in 1949 with 342 charter members. The first theater was a primitive building at the fairgrounds with no heat or running water. Extensive renovation by countless hours of hard work and numerous donations enabled the thespians to present an opening season of The Little Foxes, Blithe Spirit, and Night Must Fall.

This mixture of drama, comedy, and suspense by fine playwrights set high standards which following generations of players have tried to uphold.
After twenty years of enduring unfavorable conditions at the fairgrounds, Footlight Players undertook a fund-raising campaign for a new theater. Seating sponsorships were sold, a review of past performance highlights was staged, and an antique auction of donated items was held. Local foundations, business and industry, and many generous individuals’ donations made the new theater a reality. The land was given for the Triple Locks Center, as were, again, great amounts of time to paint, install carpet and flooring and lighting. The grand opening night celebration in fall 1974 included a dinner, performance of Forty Carats, and a champagne reception.

A successful capital campaign launched in 2012, resulted in enough funds to make many needed updates to the theater: paving the parking lot, enlarging the restrooms, cleaning, painting inside and out, new seating and carpeting.This was completed before the start of the 2013-2014 season, which marks sixty-four continuous years of live theater in Coshocton.